All photo links broken - no thumbnails -- mac

I have been using Tropy for several years. I have hundreds of images in it and am in final prep for publication. I keep all images in one folder and the tropy file itself in the same folder. I did not change files names. I work between an old imac and a newer mac laptop. I have just acquired a 2019 imac. A couple months ago, tropy suddenly stopped linking to most of the thumbnails (now it’s all thumbnails). I have tried consolidating the entire library and individual images. For a while, per your advice, I downloaded and earlier version (1.6) and that worked–but no longer. Plus Tropy was constantly updating so I had to keep re-installing the old version. You had some advice about changing the code to prevent that, but Macs do not enable changing of code (as far as I know). So I am desperate. Hundreds of photos I cannot see. Please help!! From now on I will be working with catalina and mojave OS and may upgrade to newer.

Just to be sure, are you trying to consolidate the project on your old iMac with an old version of Tropy (and disable the auto-update)? Or are you trying to use the project on the newer iMac or Macbook with the latest Tropy release?

In the latter case, I’d suggest to just download and install the latest version and then consolidate one of the photos: since the files are all in the same folder that should be sufficient for Tropy to find all photos again.

Thanks for reply!
Right now, I’m just trying to get it to work on the new computer.
This is what I did before I sent the message to you.

• moved the folder with all images and tropy file into new computer
  • downloaded tropy (new version)
    Images did not appear. I consolidated the entire library. It made no difference. Tried consolidating individual photo and entire library. Nothing happened.
    –Downloaded Tropy 1.6. Also did not work.
  • Updated to new version. Still did not work