Can a late 2013 mac run tropy without overheating?

Hi there,

I’m new to using tropy and as a historian in the archives i’m loving the format (even while I’m still trying to understand how to create my own templates) but it seems like my laptop is incapable of running this program without the fans powering on to avoid overheating and the battery draining at a rapid pace. I wondered if this was a storage problem for my photos and added storage; i also thought that it was a battery issue alone and while my laptop could use a new battery just do to age, this is the only program that seems to push its limits.

I am contemplating a new laptop because it’s that time but before making such a large investment I’ve been looking for answers to how tropy works best. At my current disposal is a 2.4 GHz Intel Core i5 and 4 GB of Memory. I feel like the culprit is memory but I figured some feedback from you guys would be rather helpful. Thank you

Can you send us your tropy.log file? Maybe there is an issue that causes the high CPU activity.

In general terms, Tropy’s performance will benefit if your project file is stored on a fast drive (preferably a SSD); if your photos are located on a slow drive this will have less of an impact.

Tropy currently loads the full-size photos into memory (and into the GPU) very aggressively. This is something we hope to optimize in the future.