Conflicted copies


#1

Hi

Is anyone else having problems with conflicted copies? I have a project that I’m working on from two computers, my home computer and my work computer. So what will happen is that I spend time at home (or vice versa) working on photos in the project and then exit the program. Then I open the program at work (or home) and it won’t open the same version that I last worked on, but the version from before the last time I opened the project.

This means, that all the things I changed in the project during the last session is lost (or rather, saved in a conflicted copy-file), and if I don’t notice this, I continue editing the project in some way, meaning that whichever version I then move forward with, some work will be lost.

This is fairly frustrating to say the least. Hours of work is lost and has to be repeated. I don’t know what’s causin the problem, if it’s me or if it’s the program or the project file itself.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Martin


#2

How are you keeping the projects in sync? Tropy itself does not yet support synchronization at all, which is why it cannot protect you from such conflicts yet. Until Tropy adds sync/collaboration features proper, the only thing you can do is to make sure the file is fully synced before you start working – but this depends on the file-syncing method you’re using.

(In the short-term, copying data between project windows will also help to ‘consolidate’ such conflicted copies. This is planned for one of the upcoming 1.6.x releases.)


#3

As usual, thank you for the fast and pedagogic response.

Well if there’s no synchronization feature that explains a lot :slight_smile:. I have a folder with all the source material and the project file in the same folder, because this is what you guys recommended if you do a collaborative project. The folder, and thus the project file, is synched by Dropbox, in order to facilitate me working on the project from different computers.

I get what you’re sayin and I will have to be more vigilant and keep an eye on if the program generates conflicted copies, so that I don’t lose information.

But just to make sure: right now there is no way to transfer information between projects right, besides doing it manually, right? When this problem has occurred, I have solved it by opening the two copies and then manually copy the information from one project to the other. This is faster than doing it from scratch, but still takes a lot of time.

best
Martin


#4

Yes, but I try to always include the caveat that collaboration/syncing is not yet supported by Tropy itself. We’ll start working on this soon but meanwhile the portable projects are meant mostly to make it easier to move projects (although that should not be necessary nowadays, because of automatic path consolidation).

Yes, that’s right. As I mentioned copying between projects will be much improved by one of the releases later this fall: when support for copy/pasting item lands in Tropy you should be able to copy whole items from the one copy of the project file to the other (this will copy the photos, metadata and tags, though probably not the association to lists although we’re still figuring this out).


#5

Hi again

No I remember that you guys have been very clear that this is something one does at one’s own peril. So to speak. It’s worked a treat for me I’d say, besides the conflicting copies. I’ve not encountered any other issues so far.

That sounds great re the possibility to copy paste between projects. Looking forward to it a lot. Parts of my current project is relevant for another project that I have with a colleague but I don’t want to mess up my notes by adding to them from this project, so a copy paste function would be fantastic.

Re the list: So one would have to create a new list in the other project and then paste into that list, right? That doesn’t sound like too big of a deal to me, although I understand why you would want to be able to copy the list as well.


#6

If you use Dropbox and have everything in Dropbox folders including your database, what you must do is to force a sync with the Dropbox Client after you Close Tropy, you then need to wait closing down the PC untill you see that Dropbox is in sync on that computer…
Then on the other computer, you need to force a sync (or wait til Dropbox has done autosync) and wait to the sync is finished before you open Tropy on computer 2…

You also need to turn Dropbox sync off while you are working, else you will end up with multiple copies of the databases and multiple “sync errors” in Dropbox…


#7

Gotcha, thank you for the tips!


#8

Btw, when are you planning to release the copy paste function?