How best to modify templates

I am new to Tropy and have no experience with constructing databases, with metadata terminology, or with the concepts used in contemporary library programs for information classification and transfer. From a specific recommendation as well as reviews, I thought that Tropy would be useful, and require fewer modifications to work than other software programs I had read about. Further, I judged that it would be robust and that its usefulness would improve in future iterations. I have reviewed its accompanying documentation and about 5 videos and websites on its use. However, application has stalled. My operating system is Windows 10.