Importing metadata from a Text File?

I was given about 7,000 images to categorize and reorganize as a part of a research project, as well as their metadata in a text file. I can change the format of the file, of course, but I’m still unsure of what to change it to.

I have no prior experience using Tropy, so I am unsure of how to proceed. Any and all help is appreciated!!

You want either a script or plugin to turn the text file into a JSON file which Tropy can import (CSV is also an option if you prefer to work with spreadsheets, but it’s less flexible and therefore might not work well with your data). How easy or difficult this is to do, will depend mostly on the way the file is currently structured.

The first question I’d ask is how these 7,000 images should be mapped to items in Tropy. That is, do you want to turn these into 7,000 items, each with a single photo and the corresponding metadata, or are these going to be a smaller number of items with multiple photos?

As for the metadata in the file, if you post an example of the how the metadata is structured (and how it is linked to the photo file) we’ll be able to give you better advice.

Thank you so much for your response!
There will be a slightly smaller amount of items, some items will have multiple photos, while others will just have a single photo and corresponding metadata.

Here is an example of how the metadata is currently structured in the text file:

Artist Artist Dates Date Description Dimension: Height (cm) Dimension: Width (cm) Filename Keywords Location Medium Medium - Technique Path Title
Netherlandish Artists ca. 1525 from west end of church Aarschot Jube - AJ01.JPG microarchitecture Belgium, Aarschot, O-L-V Micro-Architecture Macintosh HD:Users:(name):Pictures:Work:Images - Monuments:Aarschot Jube:Aarschot Jube - AJ01.JPG Aarschot Jube

I also converted the text file into a JSON file, if that would be helpful? Please let me know if you need anything else from me!