Link to external files

Hey, I’m pretty new with Tropy, so please apologize, if I missed a feature or existing request.
I’m going to use Tropy to organize my research data. To integrate Tropy into my existing workflow it would be helpful to have the opportunity to attach files from outside Tropy with links to an item, similar to Zotero.

To explain my workflow: I’m working with many text documents, organized with Zotero. In my workflow I create a markdown file for each book, article etc I’m reading with important quotes, extracts and first thoughts. All these markdown files are stored in one folder and organized, linked etc. with Obsidian (or another markdown editor). From there I can connect ideas, search for keywords in all notes, sort my notes by tags and can start writing text. Therefore it’s important for me being able to search all my notes at once. If I’m creating notes for my archival documents in Tropy I would always have to search for a keyword in my notes folder as well as in Tropy.
My solution so far is to create a markdown note in my notes folder and store the tropy:// link in the first line (great feature btw!) followed by my notes afterwards. This way I can move from my note directly to the item in Tropy. In addition it would be great, if this also worked the other way round and I could link the md file to an item in Tropy and enter my notes from Tropy.
Beyond that it would be awesome if it was possible to view (and edit) linked md files in the embedded editor.

Is this something you’re planning for the future or is there a workaround or feature I didn’t figure out?

Thanks a lot and apologize my mistakes, I’m not a native speaker.

Linking to external notes is currently not possible, sorry. I’ll add it to our list of feature ideas!

1 Like