macOS High Sierra (and older): "Unhandled Error"

I opened Tropy today just like every other day and instead of opening, I received this long error message that I do not understand. I am not a programmer and not well-versed in this sort of thing.

Error: dlopen(/Applications/Tropy.app/Contents/Resources/app.asar.unpacked/lib/node/lib/fsevents.node, 1): Symbol not found: ____chkstk_darwin
Referenced from: /Applications/Tropy.app/Contents/Resources/app.asar.unpacked/lib/node/lib/fsevents.node (which was built for Mac OS X 10.15)
Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib
in /Applications/Tropy.app/Contents/Resources/app.asar.unpacked/lib/node/lib/fsevents.node
at process.func [as dlopen] (node:electron/js2c/asar_bundle:2:1869)
at Module._extensions…node (node:internal/modules/cjs/loader:1354:18)
at Object.func [as .node] (node:electron/js2c/asar_bundle:2:2096)
at Module.load (node:internal/modules/cjs/loader:1124:32)
at Module._load (node:internal/modules/cjs/loader:965:12)
at f._load (node:electron/js2c/asar_bundle:2:13377)
at o._load (node:electron/js2c/renderer_init:2:3109)
at Module.require (node:internal/modules/cjs/loader:1148:19)
at require (node:internal/modules/cjs/helpers:110:18)
at Object. (/Applications/Tropy.app/Contents/Resources/app.asar/lib/project-GquQjkvo.js:42479:20)

I last opened Tropy four days ago and haven’t had any problems previously. I haven’t performed any updates (to my knowledge) or moved anything around on my computer. I am using a Mac, if relevant, and it is relatively old. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Which version of macOS is this? You can find this information via ‘About this Mac’ in the Apple menu.

I’m using macOS High Sierra (Version 10.13.6) on a 2015 MacBook Pro.