Optical Character Recognition?

I am new to all data management software, including Tropy. I have organized my archival photos and am now working with content. My questions is: is it possible to transfer this well-organized set of photos to some package that can perform OCR on the handwriting? It may be messy and i may have to edit it carefully, but it could be easier than transcribing the set.

1 Like

Text recognition (for both printed as well as hand-written texts) is something we would like to support in Tropy in the long run; likely via plugins to a dedicated OCR service. We’re still evaluating possibilities, so please feel free to post suggestions or ideas on the subject here.

More specifically, we’ve been exploring a potential collaboration with the Transkribus project so that’s certainly something worth checking out!

2 Likes

Thanks. Transkribus is very intriguing but it would take a lot of time and effort to teach it the handwriting on these surveys. One further question: is it possible to export my items as multipage PDFs?

Hi Nancy,

No, it’s not currently possible to export your items as multipage PDFs. Could you describe a little more about why you would want that, and what format you’d imagine that type of export would look like?

Along these same lines, I am wondering if anyone has developed a workflow using something like Automator (or AppleScript?) that might allow me to take the photos I have in Tropy, run them through an OCR app like ABBYY FineReader, and then paste the results in the notes field of Tropy.

I could certainly do this manually, one photo at a time, but ideally it would all be scripted or automated. I am still trying to figure out how to do it, but it should be possible. If I come up with a workflow myself, I’ll certainly share it here.

(I am, by the way, a 20th-century US historian, so nearly all my documents are either typed or printed. I have very little handwriting to deal with other than signatures on letters.)