Showing the path of imported files

Hi there! I just discovered this nifty tool, and I want to ask a complete newbie question.

I added a few images for my genealogy research to test, and read the following in the documentation:

When you import a photo, Tropy makes a thumbnail copy of the photo. The original photo remains in its original location on your hard drive. You have several options for adding photos to your project.

Is it possible to show the path in my hard drive to the documents/photos I’ve imported? Before finding this software, a lot of my organization relied on the use of folders, so having a way to view where the imported images were stored would be immensely helpful to fill out some of the metadata.

Thanks!

Yes! With the photo in question selected, find the photo info in the metadata panel: there should be line showing the photo’s file name. If you move the mouse over the file name, the full path should show up. Additionally, if you click on the file name it should open up in your system’s file manager (you can also right-click on the photo and select ‘Show original photo …’ to do this).

Thanks for the fast reply! Would it make sense to move this to feature requests? For transcribing, hovering over the info panel wouldn’t be as smooth, it would be really great if the folder itself was shown somewhere in the UI so my mouse is free!

Another question I have (maybe worth asking in a separate thread?) is how to export notes to markdown? I couldn’t find anything in the docs, except

You can export your notes in either HTML or Markdown. To change which format you wish to use, navigate to Preferences and scroll down to Export . Select either “Notes as HTML” or “Notes as Markdown.”

I’ve already set “Notes as Markdown” in my preferences, and added a test note to one of my photos. Right-clicking and exporting generates the json file, but I couldn’t find any markdown file with the note.